Book Review: Me Before You (by Jojo Moyes)

Book Details

Title: Me Before You

Author: Jojo Moyes

# of pages: 400

Link to Buy: Amazon.in

Author Profile

Jojo Moyes is a British novelist.

Moyes studied at Royal Holloway, University of London. She won a bursary financed by The Independent newspaper to study journalism at City University and subsequently worked for The Independent for 10 years. In 2001 she became a full time novelist.

Moyes’ novel Foreign Fruit won the Romantic Novelists’ Association (RNA) Romantic Novel of the Year in 2004.

She is married to journalist Charles Arthur and has three children.

Synopsis

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our StarsMe Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

Non Review Rant

I added this book to my to-read list on a whim. To be honest, I do remember that a lot of my GR friends have read and praised it. I saw that a Goodreads friend has reviewed the Persian version of the book “Mann Pesh Az Tu”.  What a lovely title! It somehow sounds better and conveys more, even though it is a literal translation. It sounded like a good choice.

Excerpts / Quotes / Highlights

My brain is not paralyzed, yet. 

Plot & Review

Plot:

The book is about Louisa Clark (accidental caregiver), and Will Traynor (the quadrupelgic).

Review:

I read the book in almost one sitting, starting in a Saturday afternoon and reading till nearly four o’clock of Sunday morning. I had to take cooking, eating, chatting breaks in between but I read pretty much nonstop. It was that captivating. I saw the end but still couldn’t put down the book. My hands ached staying the same position holding my phone, I continued.

It is such a well-written book.

I cried once or twice as I watched the characters grow from an ordinary person in a shell to a better person who knows possibilities available to her. I loved that aspect. It was not like suddenly Lou became the most intelligent and popular girl in a night’s makeover. No. The process is slow and gradual and bitter and sweet. Even heart-breaking.

When I got to the part where will’s medical situation is explained in detail, I felt like I am reading ‘Turtles all the way down” by John Green. I guess it was the sincerity and with which both writers have sketched the characters and their physical pains and their emotions. Some would say it is more like “The Fault In Our Stars”. I have not read that one, yet.

It also reminded me of the Hindi movie Guzarish. I have not googled it yet if it was an inspiration or not. But the concept was the same, except there was less of caregiver’s family side and more drama. Also, it highlights that money can make a lot of difference. Imagine Will with a lot less money. How would that be? That would be a real tear-jerker.

Final Thoughts

The book might have been about Lou and her family and her thoughts and her journey with Will, but when I put down the phone, I had Will on my mind.

That’s not all.

I have been reminded, yet another time, what a privilege life I live. I am more thankful for my life. I am determined to be less critical of things and people around me. A book that leaves imprints on your mind, I would say a great book.

Overall rating: 4.9/5

Shabana Mukhtar


Email || Blog || Goodreads || Facebook || Amazon || Twitter

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I love the writing and structure of your review. Extremely well done. I also agree with you completely. I loved this book. Have you read any of the others yet?

    1. Awnnn. Thanks. It means a lot.
      Not yet, I have added it to my to-read list. Still recovering from Will’s demise :'(

Your comments and opinion matter. Please leave a message. Cheers!